Board of Health

City-County Board of Health

Membership on the Board of Health includes:

  • a representative of the Helena City Commission;
  • a representative of the East Helena City Council;
  • a representative of the County Commission; and
  • the superintendent of School District 1.

County commissioners appoint 5 additional members for 3-year terms. They are:

  • a professional with experience in the field of environmental, biological, chemical or engineering sciences;
  • a licensed physician or dentist;
  • a consumer of health services;
  • a resident living within the city limits of Helena; and
  • a resident living in the county but outside the city limits of Helena.

The Board of Health is responsible for hiring a health officer and setting policy for the administration of the City-County Health Department.

Current Members

Justin Murgel

Justin Murgel  is a city resident who live inside the Helena city limits. He is an employee of  and is in his second term, which expires June 30, 2024.

Dr. Mikael Bedell

Dr. Mikael Bedell is a licensed physician who works as a family practitioner at St. Peter's Health Medical Group. He is in his first term on the board. Term expires June 30, 2025 and he serves as the board's vice chair.

csm_Tom_Rolfe_983cf89993.jpgTom Rolfe is a Lewis and Clark County Commissioner and the commission's designated representative on the board. He serves at the pleasure of the commissioners.

Mayor Wilmot Collins

Mayor Wilmot Collins is mayor of the City of Helena. He serves on the health board at the pleasure of the City Commission as its representative.

Lisa Kaufman

Lisa Kaufman is the Public Water Field Section Supervisor at the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). She is in her first term on the Board of Health and serves as the Hearing Officer. Term expires June 30, 2024.

Brie Oliver

Brie MacLaurin is the Board of Health Chair.  She has joined the board representing consumers of health services. She is executive director of Healthy Mothers Healthy Babies. She is in her first term, which expires June 30, 2025.

Rex Weltz

Rex Weltz is superintendent of Helena School District 1; he represents the school district on the board as an ex-officio voting member.

Coming SoonMayor Kelly Harris is the mayor of East Helena and serves on the Board of Health as a resident from the city of East Helena. He serves at the pleasure of the East Helena City Council.

Coming SoonKatherine Weber At Large Member living outside of Helena city limits, but in Lewis and Clark County. Term expires on June 30, 2024.


2024 Board Meeting Schedule

Past Board Minutes