Fire Districts and Fire Services Areas

The Board of County Commissioners may establish Rural Fire Districts and Fire Service Areas under state law.

In Lewis & Clark County, there are four Fire Service Areas and nine Rural Fire Districts, each governed by a board of trustees. A final Fire Service Area, the Lewis & Clark County Fire Service Area, covers any land not included in other fire service areas, districts or departments, and is governed by the Board of County Commissioners.

The board of trustees generally enter into contracts for fire protection services from a volunteer fire department. Many of the Rural Fire Districts and Fire Service Areas have mutual aid agreements that allow assistance between entities, providing better service to our residents.

For questions regarding a specific district or area's operations, please contact the district's Fire Chief.

For questions regarding board terms and elections, please contact the Elections Department.

For questions regarding district and area establishment and fees, please contact the Community Development & Planning Department.

Fire Chief Contact List

Rural Fire District and Fire Service Area Board Members(PDF, 55KB)

Current Rural Fire Districts

Fire Service Areas