Patrol Division

The Sheriff's Office patrol division currently consists of approximately 28 sworn positions. Three deputies are assigned to our substations as resident deputies to serve the residents of Lincoln, Augusta and Wolf Creek. Two of these live in or around Lincoln and Augusta.

The remaining are assigned to the greater Helena Valley area and primarily serve the communities and neighborhoods around Helena, East Helena, Canyon Creek, Marysville, Birdseye, Baxendale, Lakeside, York, East & West Valley and Canyon Ferry. Of these, Helena and East Helena have their own local Police Departments that the Sheriff's Office works closely with. We also operate lake patrols around Canyon Ferry Lake.

Our patrol deputies field calls for service, perform preventative patrol and traffic enforcement.

We have one deputy assigned as the courthouse security deputy.  The courthouse security deputy is responsible for security in both Justice courts and all four of the District courts.