Welcome to Lewis and Clark County, Montana!

Lewis and Clark County, Montana is located in the southwestern part of the state.  The county has a land area of approximately 3,513 square miles and a population of approximately 59,302.  The state capital and county seat is Helena.

Many of the County’s offices are located in the historic 1904 Federal Building, now the City-County Building.  This building has been a popular postcard subject over the past century, and was even pictured on souvenir china.

Established as a commission form of government in 1915, the county government is comprised of a three-member commission, each elected to staggered six-year terms. There are seven elected county officials that serve four-year terms.

The county’s favorable economic environment provides steady commercial and residential development in Helena and surrounding areas.

Whether you like to hike, fish, sail, or hunt, many of these recreational activities are easily attainable the moment you step out your front door!

Mission Statement
The mission of Lewis and Clark County is to maintain and enhance public health, safety, and welfare for the citizens of the county with responsible management of public resources and full public participation and disclosure.


Visitor Links and Information

The State Site offers many recreation and event opportunities in Lewis & Clark County as well. Check out their Things to Do in Montana page.

Helena Chamber of Commerce

Lincoln Chamber of Commerce