The Lewis and Clark County Sheriff’s Office Bomb Squad was formed in 1999 and currently consists of four bomb technicians: Deputy Josh Van Dyke, Deputy Ken Getz, Deputy Marvin Weber, and CIB Sergeant Eric Gilbertson. All are certified bomb technicians and graduates of the FBI Hazardous Devices School/Huntsville, AL at Redstone Arsenal.

The bomb squad meets the equipment requirements as mandated by the FBI for a certified bomb squad. Some of the equipment the bomb squad has consists of the following: five bomb suits (one Med-Eng 9, two Med-Eng 8s, and two Med-Eng SRS-5s), four x-ray machines (one XR-200, one RTS-4, and two ScanX), seven disrupters (PAN), three stand alone and two each on the robots, and three Viking ISI SCBAs. The bomb squad currently possesses a Remotic Andros Wolverine robot and an ICOR MK3 Caliber robot. The above, along with other equipment which enhances the capabilities of the bomb squad, is housed in two bomb trucks: a 38’ diesel powered truck and a F-550 four wheel drive diesel with an 18' stand-up box. The bomb squad’s expertise is currently called upon over 70 times per year. The bomb squad has a MOU with the Missoula County SO/PD Bomb Squad.

The LCSO Bomb Squad is capable and willing to handle the needs of Lewis and Clark County and other agencies that call upon us.

bomb unit

Patrol Bureau


Dispatch - (406) 447-8293

Patrol Captain Brent Colbert: (406) 447-8247

Sgt. Matt Reighard: (406) 447-8248

Sgt. Brian Robinson: (406) 447-8248

Sgt. Chris Weiss: (406) 447-8248

Sgt. Kevin Wright: (406) 447-8831

Sgt. Uriah Wood: (406) 457-8831


Bomb Squad:

Deputy Chris Cornish 447-8293