## LEWIS AND CLARK CITY-COUNTY BOARD OF HEALTH – MINUTES 1930 9th AVE, HELENA, MONTANA 59601 Zoom Meeting, 1:00 p.m.

January 26, 2023

Members PresentStaff PresentJustin Murgel, chairDrenda NiemannDr. Mikael Bedell, vice chairJolene HelgersonCommissioner Tom RolfeA.C. RothenbuecherBrie MacLaurinBeth Norberg

Members Absent
Mayor Wilmot Collins

Mayor Kelly Harris Lisa Kaufman

Katherine Weber Rex Weltz Guests Present

Dan Clarke, MSU Local Government Center Ashley Kent, MSU Local Government Center

Justin Murgel, chair, called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m. A quorum was not established. Introductions were made.

## REVIEW OF AGENDA

No changes were made. No public comment was given.

## **BOARD MEMBER DISCUSSION**

Strategic Planning Session: Director Dan Clarke and Associate Director Ashley Kent, both from the MSU Local Government Center, facilitated the Lewis and Clark City-County Board of Health's Strategic Planning meeting in which the Board reviewed and update or validated the Health Department's existing Mission, Vision, and Organizational Values and develop the department's Strategic Initiatives for the next 3 years. After board discussion with the assistance from staff, the Board agreed that the department's mission and values would remain the same. Changes were made to the vision statement to read "Healthy people, community, and environment." Minor changes were made to the strategic initiatives.

1	Consider health equity and social determinants of health in all aspects of public health work.
2	Expand the role of public health in improving behavioral health, with a focus on wellness and resilience, mental health, and unhealthy substance use.
3	Improve health across the lifespan, with a focus on early childhood, youth, and older adults.
4	Promote a safe and healthy environment, with a focus on environmental health, built environment, and public health preparedness.
5	Improve public health infrastructure.

No public comment was given.	
PUBLIC COMMENT No public comment was given.	
The meeting adjourned at 3:20 p.m.	
Justin Murgel, Chair	Drenda Niemann, Secretary