CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMIT
APPLICATION INSTRUCTION SHEET

* Please note: An appointment is required to submit an application for a CWP.
CALL PAMELA 447-8259

Conditions to be met:

1.

U. S. Citizen or Permanent lawful resident.
18 years or older.

Must have Montana Driver's License or other picture I.D. issued by the State of Montana.

. Must be a resident of the state of Montana for 6 months or more.

Must show proof of hunters’ safety education or approved firearms safety training course or DD214.

Duplicate Hunters Education Certificates can be printed from the MT Fish Wildlife and Parks website:
www.fwp.mt.gov ; more specifically: http://fwp.mt.gov/education/hunter/born.html

. Must properly fill out application prior to your appointment and sign in Sheriff's

presence or his designee.
Application must be accompanied by $50.00 ($25.00 for renewal).

Must be fingerprinted (New permits & permits over a year expired). Instructions on how to do this will
be given to you at your appointment.

. RENEWALS: MCA 45-8-322(3) states in part: “The permit must be renewed for additional

4-year periods upon payment of a $25 fee per renewal and upon request for renewal made
within 90 days before expiration of the permit.”

PLEASE COMPLETE THE APPLICATION -- DO NOT SIGN OR DATE IT -- YOU WILL BE REQUIRED TO SIGN THE
APPLICATION IN THE PRESENCE OF THE SHERIFF'S ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT.

CHECK, CASH OR MONEY ORDER
PLEASE BRING CORRECT CHANGE IF CASH IS USED
APPOINTMENT REQUIRED: CALL 447-8259

Sheriff’s Civil Division
406 Fuller Avenue, Helena MT 59601

For further information please visit the State of Montana website www.doj.mt.gov and
https:/ /dojmt.gcov/features/frequently-asked-firearms-questions/



http://www.fwp.mt.gov/
http://fwp.mt.gov/education/hunter/born.html
http://www.doj.mt.gov/
https://dojmt.gov/features/frequently-asked-firearms-questions/

CONCEALED WEAPON PERMIT INFORMATION (Montana Codes Annotated 45-8-315 through 45-8-329)

Definition. "Concealed weapon" means a firearm that is wholly or partially covered by the clothing or wearing apparel of the
person carrying or bearing the weapon.

Application fee is $50.00 (4-year permit), payable when you submit your application. Must be a US citizen or Permanent legal
resident, Montana resident for at least 6 months prior to applying, 18 years of age or older who holds a valid Montana driver’s license or a
state picture ID, and must show proof of firearms safety training by at least one of the following:

a)
b)
<)
d)

e)

military discharge form DD214;

hunter’s safety certificate;

completion of a firearms safety or training course approved or conducted by the department of fish, wildlife, and parks; a
similar agency of another state; a national firearms association; a law enforcement agency; an institution of higher
education; or an organization that uses instructors certified by a national firearms association;

completion of a law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered to or required of public or private law
enforcement personnel and conducted or approved by a law enforcement agency;

a concealed weapon permit from another state if c) or d) above was required to obtain the permit.

If you are issued a permit, you must be familiar with the MCA codes stated above. IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO BE
FAMILIAR WITH THE LAW IF YOU ARE GOING TO CARRY A CONCEALED WEAPON. You may obtain a copy of the code from
the state law library. You may NOT:

a)
b)

carry a concealed weapon while under the influence of an intoxicating substance;
carry a concealed weapon in:

1. portions of a building used for state or local government offices and related areas in the building that have been
restricted;

2. a bank, credit union, savings & loan institution, or similar institution;

3. a room in which alcoholic beverages are sold, dispensed and consumed.

You will be ineligible to receive a concealed weapon permit if you:

a.

b.

g.
h.

are ineligible under Montana or federal law to own, possess, or receive a firearm;

have been charged and are awaiting judgment in any state of a state or federal crime that is punishable by incarceration for
1 year or more;

have been convicted in any state or federal court in any state of a crime punishable by more than 1 year of incarceration or,
regardless of the sentence that may be imposed, a crime that includes as an element of the crime an act, attempted act, or
threat of intentional homicide, violence, bodily or serious bodily harm, unlawful restraint, sexual abuse, or sexual
intercourse or contact without consent;

have been convicted under the following, unless you have been pardoned or 5 years have elapsed since the date of the
conviction;

1. carrying a concealed weapon while under the influence;

2. carrying a concealed weapon in a prohibited place;

have a warrant of any state or the federal government out for your arrest;

have been adjudicated in a criminal or civil proceeding in a court of any state or in a federal court to be an unlawful user of
an intoxicating substance and are under a court order of imprisonment or other incarceration, probation, suspended, or
deferred imposition of sentence, treatment or education, or other conditions of release or are otherwise under state
supervision;

have been adjudicated in a criminal or civil proceeding in a court of any state or in a federal court to be mentally ill,
mentally disordered, or mentally disabled and are still subject to a disposition order of that court; or

were dishonorably discharged from the United States armed forces.

The sheriff may deny an applicant a permit to carry a concealed weapon if the sheriff has reasonable cause to believe that the
applicant is mentally ill, mentally disordered, or mentally disabled or otherwise may be a threat to the peace and good order of the
community to the extent that the applicant should not be allowed to carry a concealed weapon.

The permit may be revoked if any circumstances arise that would require the sheriff to refuse to grant the permittee an original
license. If your permit is revoked you will be required to surrender it to any peace officer after notification by the sheriff.

A person with a permit to carry a concealed weapon who changes his/her county of residence shall within 10 days of the change
inform the sheriffs of both the old and new counties of residence of this change of residence. If the residence changes either from or to a city
or town with a police force, he shall also inform the chief of police in each of those cities or towns.

For further information please visit the State of Montana website www.doj.mt.gov


http://www.doj.mt.gov/

