
Junk Vehicle

Got an old junker cluttering up your 
yard or alley? State law requires you 

to shield it from public view. 
Better yet, give us a call and we’ll 

come haul it away — for free!

Environmental Health Division
316 N. Park Ave., Room 230

Helena MT 59623
406-447-8351

publichealth@lccountymt.gov
www.LewisAndClarkHealth.org

December 2017

In 1973, the Montana Legislature enacted the 
Montana Motor Vehicle Recycling and Disposal 
Act (Title 75, Chapter 10, Part 5 of the Montana 
Code Annotated). 

The law requires commercial and county motor 
vehicle storage and wrecking yards to get an 
annual license, keep pertinent records, and 
shield their junk vehicles from public view.

This law also requires individuals to control 
and shield all junk vehicles in their yard, alley, 
driveway, street, etc.

Important Definitions
Junk vehicle: A motor vehicle, including 
component parts, that: 

•	 is discarded, ruined, wrecked, or 
dismantled; 

•	 is not lawfully and validly licensed (with 
some exceptions); and 

•	 remains inoperative or incapable of being 
driven. 

A vehicle must meet all three of these criteria to 
be considered a junk vehicle.

Public view: Any point 6 feet above the surface 
of the center of a public road from which a junk 
vehicle can be seen. 

Public road: Any publicly owned or maintained 
highway, street, or road or alley or privately 
owned road open for public access.

Shielding: The construction or use of fencing or 
constructed or natural barriers to conceal junk 
vehicles from public view.

Montana Junk Vehicle Law More Information

Montana Dept. of Environmental Quality
deq.mt.gov/Land/JunkVehicles

Lewis and Clark Public Health
406-447-8351

www.lccountymt.gov/health/environ-
mental-services/junk-vehicle.html

Removal Program



How to Get Your Junk Vehicle Hauled Away for Free!

Step 3
Make sure that the pre-assigned number 
on the top of your blue release form 
matches the number on the yellow sticker 
included in this packet. The two numbers 
should be the same.

Abandoned Vehicles
If you spot a vehicle that has been 
abandoned on a public street, report 
it to the city police, county sheriff, or 
whatever law enforcement agency has 
jurisdiction over the vehicle’s location.

Lewis and Clark Public Health 
cannot haul abandoned vehicles 
away until a law enforcement 
agency officially determines that 
the vehicle has been abandoned.

An abandoned vehicle is defined in 
state law (61-12-401 MCA) as any motor 
vehicle that has been left unattended for 
a period of 48 hours or more on a public 
highway or for a period of 5 days or 
more on a city street, public property, or 
private property. 

Step 1 

Complete the blue form in this packet 
entitled “Release of Ownership or Interest 
in Motor Vehicle.” You can also download 
the form at www.lccountymt.gov/health/
environmental-services/junk-vehicle.html

If the junk vehicle you want removed is 
locked away or hidden from view — and/or 
if you want a phone call before a wrecker 
comes to remove the vehicle — please 
note this at the bottom of page 2 of the 
blue release form.

Step 2
If you have the title or registration for the 
junk vehicle, attach it securely to the blue 
release form.

Step 4
Attach the yellow sticker to the front 
window or another readily visible part of 
the junk vehicle.

Step 5 

Mail the blue release form to:
     Junk Vehicle Removal Program
     Lewis and Clark County
     316 N. Park Ave.
     Helena MT 59623


