Criminal Justice Coordinating Council

The Criminal Justice Coordinating Council (CJCC) was created in 2012 in response to Resolution 2012-116 of the Lewis and Clark County Commission. The CJCC is an advisory council to the Board of County Commissioners.

The principal mission of the CJCC is to:

  • study the County’s juvenile and adult criminal justice system;
  • identify deficiencies;
  • raise public awareness of the unique needs of the system;
  • coordinate efforts;
  • and formulate policy, plans, and programs to improve the system. 

The CJCC is committed to the coordinated planning of innovative corrections programs that reflect the County’s desire for safety and cost effectiveness.  The CJCC will serve as the central planning body for the juvenile and adult criminal justice system, and will make recommendations to the public policy boards on behalf of our justice system.

Lewis and Clark County’s CJCC was selected this year to be one of 30 members of The Justice Management Institute’s CJCC network, a national network of leading coordinating councils. The National Network of Criminal Justice Coordinating Councils (NNCJCC) is a formal network that brings together leaders of the Network member CJCCs to create a forum for peer-to-peer learning and information sharing aiming to build capacity on a national level.

Mission Statement

The CJCC exists to promote the safety of the citizens of Lewis and Clark County, the efficient and just treatment of defendants and offenders, the protection and healing of victims, and to work toward prevention of crime and the reduction of recidivism.

CJCC Members

Honorable Mike Menahan,
First Judicial Court, CJCC Chair

Justice of the Peace
Mike Swingley

Municipal Court Judge
Bob Wood

Lewis & Clark County Commission Chair
Andy Hunthausen

City of Helena Chief of Police
Troy McGee

Lewis & Clark County Attorney
Leo Gallagher

Lewis & Clark County Sheriff
Leo Dutton

 Chief Youth Probation Officer
Sharon Tregidga

 Chief Adult Probation Officer
Christin Thennis

 Deputy Public Defender
Suzanne Seburn, Vice Chair

City of Helena Manager
Ron Alles

City of East Helena Mayor
James Schell

Victim Advocate Representative
Jenny Eck