City-County Board of Health

Membership on the Board of Health includes:

  • a representative of the Helena City Commission;
  • a representative of the East Helena City Council;
  • a representative of the County Commission; and
  • the superintendent of School District 1.

County commissioners appoint 5 additional members for 3-year terms. They are:

  • a professional with experience in the field of environmental, biological, chemical or engineering sciences;
  • a licensed physician or dentist;
  • a consumer of health services;
  • a resident living within the city limits of Helena; and
  • a resident living in the county but outside the city limits of Helena.

The Board of Health is responsible for hiring a health officer and setting policy for the administration of the City-County Health Department.

Current Members

Jim Benish is chair of the Board of Health. He represents consumers of health services on the board. He retired after 36 years working in school psychology. He has a graduate degree in counseling psychology and has been an adjunct professor at Carroll College. Jim is in his second term on the board. It expires June 30, 2019.

Anne Weber is vice chair of the Board of Health. She represents the population of Lewis and Clark County residing outside the city limits of Helena. She is retired from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services. She is in her second term on the board. It expires June 30, 2018.

Mayor Wilmot Collins

Wilmot Collins is mayor of the City of Helena. He serves on the health board at the pleasure of the City Commission as its representative.

Jack Copps

Jack Copps is interim superintendent of Helena School District 1; he represents the school district on the board as an ex-officio voting member.

Jenny Eck represents people who live within the Helena city limits. She is a member of the Montana House of Representatives. Term expires June 30, 2018.

Andy Hunthausen

Andy Hunthausen is a Lewis and Clark County Commissioner and the commission's designated representative on the board. He serves at the pleasure of the commissioners.

Kammy Johnson is a professional with experience in the field of environmental, biological, chemical or engineering sciences. She represents the Board of Health on the Water Quality Protection District Board of Directors. Term expires June 30, 2018.

Dr. Adron Medley is a licensed physician who worked as a general, thoracic, and vascular surgeon in Helena for many years. Term expires June 30, 2019.

Scott St. Clair is a resident of the City of East Helena. He serves at the pleasure of the East Helena City Council.

Facebook Icon
YouTube Logo

Find Us

Melanie Reynolds
Health Officer

Board Resolutions

Wolf Creek Sewer District
August 23, 2012

Tobacco-Free Parks
July 26, 2012

Medicaid Expansion
June 28, 2012

Complete Streets
August 16, 2010

Healthy Transportation
June 25, 2009

Universal Health-Care Access
December 4, 2008

Social Hosting
April 24, 2008

Wastewater Maintenance
May 26, 2005