Boards, Committees & Special Purpose Districts

Lewis and Clark County is very fortunate to have caring and concerned citizens who volunteer their time to serve on boards, commissions and committees. Some of these boards and committees are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners, while others are comprised of members elected by their special district constituents.

See below for more information on the boards and committees in Lewis and Clark County.


There are various groups of concerned citizens who meet to discuss County business – they make decisions and/or recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners, which help to shape the County’s future and set standards and goals for the community.  The volunteers dedicate much of their time, talent and hard work to their respective boards and committees.  Their continued commitment is the reason for the quality of life that is unique to Lewis and Clark County. 

Board & Committee Appointment Policy

  • Resolution 2011-191 (PDF)

Board Application


Airport Authority Board

Augusta Cemetery Board

Augusta Solid Waste Management District

City-County Board of Health

City-County Consolidated Planning Board

City-County Library Board

City-County Parks Board

Compensation Board

Craig Mosquito District Board

Fair Board

Forestvale Cemetery Board

Forestvale Historic Preservation Committee

Helena Valley Mosquito District Board

Heritage Preservation and Tourism Development Council

Human Services Task Force

Information Technology & Services Board

Investment Committee

Lewis and Clark County DUI Task Force

Lincoln Solid Waste Management District

Lincoln Parks Board

Mental Health Local Advisory Council

Open Lands Citizens Advisory Committee

Planning and Zoning Commission

Scratchgravel Solid Waste Management District

Tax Appeal Board

Transportation Coordinating Committee

Water Quality Protection District Board

Weed Board


Current Board Vacancies


For additional information about Boards and Committees, please contact the Commission Office at 406-447-8304.




Montana law authorizes the creation of districts for a specialized and limited purpose.

In Lewis and Clark County there are 30 such "Special Purpose Districts:" nine Fire Districts, four Fire Service Areas, twelve Water and/or Sewer Districts, a Soil Conservation District, Park District, Irrigation District, Hospital District, and Community Council. Each of these Special Purpose Districts is governed by an elected board or council.

For more information on Special Purpose District meetings and operations, contact a member of the special district's board.

List of Special Purpose District Board Members in Lewis and Clark County

For additional information about these special purpose districts, please contact the Elections Department at 406-447-8338.