Lewis and Clark County Commissioners

 2017 County Commissioners

 Andy Hunthausen, Member

Susan Good Geise, Chairman

Jim McCormick, Member



County Commissioners are elected to six year terms, on a rotating basis; with one Commissioner position elected every two years.

The Commissioners are responsible for exercising the County's administrative, executive, and legislative powers as outlined in the Montana State Constitution and state statutes. This includes appointment of department heads and members of supervisory boards and committees. 

The Commission supervises the administration of County government; approves the County budget; levies taxes; issues bonds; investigates claims against the County; administers subdivision review and approval; and supervises road and bridge construction and maintenance. 

The Commissioners set policy for County government, represent the County, maintain County property, invest County funds, and authorize and sign all contracts obligating the County. 

The Commissioners are charged with the duties of managing the business and concerns of the County in the best interest of the residents and performing all acts and duties, as required by law, necessary to fully discharge the duties and responsibilities of County government. 

County Commission Districts Map

Helena Valley Commission Districts Map

2017 Commissioner Assignments/Appointments (MCCORMICK)(HUNTHAUSEN)(GEISE)

FY 2014 Commission Goals (PDF)

Resolution 2017-1 to Establish Regular Meeting Dates of the Lewis and Clark County Commission and to Describe Procedures for Public Participation

Resolution 2017-2 Establishing Hours of Operation for all Lewis and Clark County Offices

Resolution 2012-37 Establishing Lewis and Clark County Rules of Procedure as revised on April 24, 2012.


Board of County Commissioners

Contact Information:

Address: 316 N. Park Ave. Rm. 345, Helena, MT 59623
Phone:  406-447-8304
Fax:  406-447-8370